Mayer, Morris, Wolfe earn AP Kentucky All-State honors


Michael Mayer, whose impressive play on both sides of the ball helped Covington Catholic win the Kentucky Class 5A championship, has been selected as Mr. Football for the 2019 season.

Mayfield's Joe Morris and Louisville Male's Chris Wolfe, who guided their respective schools to Class 2A and 6A championship appearances, share coach of the year honors in voting by members of by members of The Associated Press from around the state.

A 6-foot-4, 232-pound tight end and linebacker, Mayer caught 50 passes for 970 yards and 15 touchdowns and rushed 10 times for 64 yards and two TDs on offense. Defensively, Mayer totaled 99 tackles with 7.5 for loss and 1.5 sacks. He also forced five forced fumbles and had four interceptions, returning one for a TD.

Mayer, who has signed a national letter of intent to play collegiately at Notre Dame, continued his two-way play in Covington Catholic's 14-7 state-title victory over Frederick Douglass. He caught a team-high five passes for 68 yards and made 6.5 tackles, including 1.5 for loss, as the Colonels (15-0) earned their second 5A crown in three seasons.

Morris led Mayfield to a 13-2 finish with 10 consecutive victories before the Cardinals fell 34-31 to Somerset in the 2A final.

Wolfe's Male squad began 14-0 in its quest to repeat as 6A champions before the Bulldogs lost 28-6 to Louisville Trinity in the final.

Quarterback: Beau Allen, Lexington Catholic
Running Backs: Jeriah Hightower, Madisonville-North Hopkins; Braedon Sloan, Wayne County
Wide Receivers: Reese Smith, Boyle County; Michael Mayer, Covington Catholic; Kade Neely, Mayfield
Offensive Linemen: Owen LeMaster, Johnson Central; Walker Parks, Frederick Douglass; William Long II, Breathitt County; Jager Burton, Frederick Douglass; John Young, Louisville Christian Academy
Kicker: Jackson Smith, Boyle County

Defensive Linemen: Demetri Scott, Louisville DeSales; Octavious Oxendine, North Hardin; Tyler Roberson, Louisville Trinity; Wilson Kelly, Boyle County
Linebackers: Jax Rogers, Mayfield; Michael Mayer, Covington Catholic; Brycen Huddleston, Highlands; Cody Goatley, Graves County; Tristan Cox, Pulaski County
Defensive Backs: Daisjaun Mercer, Hopkinsville; Eli Blakey, Louisville DuPont Manual; Jordan Lovett, North Hardin; Devin Neal, Frederick Douglass
Punter: Grayson Cook, Belfry
Quarterbacks: Drew Hartz, Owensboro Catholic; Kaiya Sheron, Somerset
Running Backs: Charles Collins, Breathitt County; Kylan Galbreath, Mayfield
Wide Receivers: Kade Grundy, Somerset; Izayah Cummings, Louisville Male; Franklin Hayes, McCracken County; Reece Jesse, Hopkinsville; Jake Sloan, Pulaski County; DeAirious Smith, Lexington Christian
Offensive Linemen: Ethan Wolford, Belfry; Chris Malala, Louisville Male; Dane Jackson, Madison Southern; Blake Moody, Madisonville-North Hopkins; Parker Bates, Apollo.
Kicker: Jeffrey Sexton, Louisville St. Xavier.
Defensive Linemen: Darion Dearinger, Anderson County; Ben Simmons, Somerset; Brady Holleran, Franklin County; Romarion Warner, Frederick Douglass; Sebastian Lawrence, Murray
Linebackers: Cade Bleidt, Trigg County; Joe Kuerzi, Louisville Male; Austin Gough, Owensboro; Charlie Ely, Louisville Trinity; Jack Dingle, Louisville Trinity
Defensive Backs: Josh Minkins, Louisville Ballard; Tony Parrott, Mayfield; Travis Brauer, Walton-Verona; Daterian Brigance, South Laurel
Mr. Football: Michael Mayer, Covington Catholic
Coaches of the Year: Joe Morris, Mayfield; Chris Wolfe, Louisville Male
Brandon Slaughter, Breathitt County, DB; Caleb Rose, West Carter, DB; Emery Woods, Bracken County, DB; Jayce Hacker, North Laurel, DB; Kaleal Davis, Newport, DB; Kaleb Flanery, Fleming County, DB; Spencer Gilbert, Lynn Camp, DB; Tyler Stice, Mason County, DB; Aiden Moore, Louisville Central, DL; Caden Hogg, Breathitt County, DL; Cidney Mills, Louisville Fern Creek, DL; Colton Bargo, Whitley County, DL; Ethan Wine, Corbin, DL; Luke Clark, South Oldham, DL; Vuk Sajlovic, Simon Kenton, DL; William Long, II, Breathitt County, DL; Zach Saylor, Whitley County, DL; Lane Weddle, Breathitt County, K; Ben Hollis, Whitley County, LB; Chris Howard, Williamsburg, LB; Dawson Fore, Corbin, LB; Dylan Osgood, Mason County, LB; Grayson Cook, Belfry, LB; Hale Bohler, Louisville St. Xavier, LB; Jase Bruner, Somerset, LB; Justice Thompson, Louisville Ballard, LB; Kobe Skortz, Owensboro, LB; Austin Taylor, Scott County, OL; Blake Gossett, Louisville Male, OL; Jon Nalley, Daviess County, OL; Kyron Humphrey, Fleming County, OL; Lucas Jones, Covington Catholic, OL; Micah Lee, Louisville Fern Creek, OL; Noah Miracle, Williamsburg, OL; Noah Orr, Corbin, OL; Phil Cox, Louisville Ballard, OL; Caleb Jacob, Covington Catholic, QB; Dalton Ponder, Williamsburg, QB; Elijah Wheat, McCracken County, QB; Jayden Stinson, Mayfield, QB; Luke Duby, Lexington Tates Creek, QB; Austin Barnes, Southwestern, RB; Azariah Israel, George Rogers Clark, RB; Clint McKee, Graves County, RB; Harold Hogg, Apollo, RB; Hunter Bradley, McCracken County, RB; Isaac Dixon, Belfry, RB; JaWaun Northington, Louisville DuPont Manual, RB; Jayden Farmer, Louisville Ballard, RB; Jayden Freeman, Paducah Tilghman, RB; Jordan Ramey, South Laurel, RB; Lavell Wright, North Hardin, RB; Quincy Perrin, Scott, RB; Alonzo Daniel, Mayfield, WR; Caleb Rose, Williamsburg, WR; Gavon Thomas, Williamsburg, WR; George Gavin, Central Hardin, WR; Jordan Watkins, Louisville Butler, WR; Miles Thomas, Lexington Tates Creek, WR; Race Richards, Graves County, WR.; Jamie Reed, South Oldham.
Coaches: Jerry Herron, Williamsburg; Darell Keith, Todd County Central; Kyle Moore, Breathitt County.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions